Sword to the Stars – Episode 1

Sword to the Stars is a game I don’t really know how to play. It’s one of these games I probably shouldn’t of bothered buying. I have enough to do with my free time, and as far as computer games go, I have more than enough to play. But the complete edition was on sale for around £5 and I quite like sci-fi stuff. So I bought it, and played it a little bit. Enough to get a feel for the game and realise what sets it apart from similar games (my brief relatively uniformed impression is that its a stripped down 4x game desigend for multiplayer). I then got a bit bored and couldn’t be bothered learning more.

A few months later,  and there’s some buzz about the upcoming Sword of the Stars 2, and I thought I should make another attempt to give the first game a proper play. And, the best way to do that surely is to plunge into the deep end in a multiplayer game. So that’s what I’ve done.

The cast

Tarkas – Riadsala (me)

Liir – Dominion of Tyne (Sorbicol)

Morrigi – Matthew (Karandraz)

Hivers – Tikey

Humans – Heliocentric

The other point of view

Helio is also writing up the game, and you can find his masterplan here.

The start of the game – Turns 1 -13

One of the neat features in SotS is that all races have a unique way of getting around the galaxy faster than light. I won’t explain it all here (the links above will give a better overview than I can anyway). My race, the Tarkas, have perhaps the simplest method for travelling about, a warp field. This means they can travel anywhere, at a fairly constant speed. So, my first orders are to build a load of scout ships at my homeworld, Epsilon Indi,  and send them off in all directions looking for nice planets to colonise.

Heading out to the stars, in all directions at once!

And I do indeed find a couple of worlds, so I send of a coloniser to each of them and claim them as my own. And in the meantime, I send my scouts off further into the void.

The blue blobby region is Tarkian space 🙂

Session 2 (Turns 14 – 20)

Things continue as you might expect… more scout ships being sent off in all directions. Still no sign of life out there in the depths of space. Well, hang on… Make that intelligent alien life. There does seem to be unintelliegent life out there though, as this swarm shoes. My plucky scout doesn’t last long…

First contact with extra terrestial life. And they're not friendly or civilised

But despite this minor setback the Grand Exodus from Epsilon Indi continues.

4 comments on “Sword to the Stars – Episode 1

  1. Heliocentric says:

    More of this kind sir.

  2. Heliocentric says:

    Yep, mine lacks any coherence so a logically structured AAR would be good.

  3. […] of rock paper shotgun on Solium Infernum as well as fellow gamers blogging our current sword of the stars campaign I decided to have a tinker with it myself. Primarily I will be discussing […]

Leave a Reply

