Developing a Strategy Game

Hello,

I have discovered that trying to develop my own game is actually a lot of fun. In fact, sometimes its a lot more fun (and rewarding) than playing a game. ANd it requires a lot of the same skills (problem solving, making plans, difficult decisions, etc).

The only downside is that I usually lose interest after a month or so. But I’ve decided that counting abandoned projects as a “failure” is wrong. It’s my free time, and if I’m enjoying it,  then all is good. Not to mention the coding practise and all the tips and tricks I pick up each time.

My current project involves reusing a lot of ideas from an earlier design, but this time trying to implement the game on a planet. Sadly, this has required a lot of searching on the internet to find out how to do things, and has been a bit of an uphill struggle. I’m still not sure the best way to implement this from within Unity3d.

But still, here’s the first screenshot.

Can anybody think of a good name for my planet?

I’m currently implementing the concept of “neighbouring tiles,”  and then working on texture swapping so the user can select tiles.

One outstanding problem is that the ocean and land don’t intersect along tiles: so along the coast there are tiles that are half in the water and half out of the water. Furthermore, the ocean and land are made out of two separate meshes, which will complicate moving from one to another. I’m currently not sure of the best solution.

2 comments on “Developing a Strategy Game

  1. The Innocent says:

    How about “Perontor.” Courtesy of a place name generator.

    It’s looking good!

  2. Diego Beltrami says:

    Interesting.
    It depends on what you’re thinking about the place but mythology is a good place to look for. What about Avalon?

Leave a Reply

